Recently I was watching TV, and I discovered that a company had bought a considerable chunk of Foxtel’s airtime, peddling a web service called www.finallyfast.com.au. Now it didn’t take me more than the first five seconds of the ad to come to the realization that this badly written American dubbed ad for a Windows service that seemed to neglect the fact that it did not actually have any Windows based machines in the ad, only Macs with badly overlaid Windows XP interfaces, was nothing more than a pointless money grubbing attempt to take the hard earned funds of those techno-illiterate who blindly think that services on the internet actually do what they are supposed to do, and aren’t havens for spyware, or malware.
While I was not fooled by this badly written piece of filth, I felt that as a service to my loyal readers, that I would debunk any thoughts in your heads. This website is exactly what I, and every other technocrat in the cloud has said, a scam. Do not trust this service or any of its manifestations; apparently this baloney has been popping up around the world for about two years, buying big in advertising, during major events. However if such a service was as free as they state they were, then they would not be able to afford the airtime they have been using.
That is where the cookie crumbles, no sooner do they state that this is a free service, design to speed up your computer by cleaning it up etc. However on the same hand they plaster across the bottom of their ad that “Paid subscription may be required to enact any changes” translation:
“We will fabricate as many issues we can to scare you into paying for a service that you can get for free at most websites and more convenient services by better vendors such as McAfee, Norton or ESET”
Overall, while FinallyFast might actually do what it says, when all the major antivirus services advice against visiting their site, let alone downloading any program located therein, I can say irrevocably, that this service is a scam, and should be avoided like the plague.
As for the ad, I would like to point out the fact that
BSOD is not possible when checking a web based email service
iMAC’s and the iBook pictured in the ad are NOT compatible with Windows based OS
BSOD has nothing to do with speed or performance
Internet Explorer is incapable of experiencing Firefox errors
Forbes, Newsweek and the Wall Street Journal have never run any stories about Finallyfast, or any of its incarnations, in fact there is not a single piece of independent review of any of their services, not to mention that all their sites are listed as untrustworthy
I will continue to monitor this travesty of abuse as it transpires, though I hope that it is short lived. Though I fear that by that time, it might be too late for most of the naive Australian prey
finally Fast.com aka throw your money away
Posted by Doc Winters on January 28, 2009
Recently I was watching TV, and I discovered that a company had bought a considerable chunk of Foxtel’s airtime, peddling a web service called www.finallyfast.com.au. Now it didn’t take me more than the first five seconds of the ad to come to the realization that this badly written American dubbed ad for a Windows service that seemed to neglect the fact that it did not actually have any Windows based machines in the ad, only Macs with badly overlaid Windows XP interfaces, was nothing more than a pointless money grubbing attempt to take the hard earned funds of those techno-illiterate who blindly think that services on the internet actually do what they are supposed to do, and aren’t havens for spyware, or malware.
While I was not fooled by this badly written piece of filth, I felt that as a service to my loyal readers, that I would debunk any thoughts in your heads. This website is exactly what I, and every other technocrat in the cloud has said, a scam. Do not trust this service or any of its manifestations; apparently this baloney has been popping up around the world for about two years, buying big in advertising, during major events. However if such a service was as free as they state they were, then they would not be able to afford the airtime they have been using.
That is where the cookie crumbles, no sooner do they state that this is a free service, design to speed up your computer by cleaning it up etc. However on the same hand they plaster across the bottom of their ad that “Paid subscription may be required to enact any changes” translation:
“We will fabricate as many issues we can to scare you into paying for a service that you can get for free at most websites and more convenient services by better vendors such as McAfee, Norton or ESET”
Overall, while FinallyFast might actually do what it says, when all the major antivirus services advice against visiting their site, let alone downloading any program located therein, I can say irrevocably, that this service is a scam, and should be avoided like the plague.
As for the ad, I would like to point out the fact that
I will continue to monitor this travesty of abuse as it transpires, though I hope that it is short lived. Though I fear that by that time, it might be too late for most of the naive Australian prey
Posted in Commentary, Exclusives, Rants | Tagged: Finallyfast warning | 3 Comments »